Practice with Spokane Karuta Society

A member of Spokane Karuta Society, one of the new Karuta clubs I introduced in a recent post, happened to be in San Francisco to attend a conference and stopped by my house one evening to practice Karuta together.

His skill was quite impressive, considering he only started playing Karuta about a month or two ago. He had memorized 70-80 cards already and was pretty fast reaching out to his favorite cards. Although I did’t go easy on him at all (as I was not aware that he was such a super beginner), I lost about five cards to him.

DSC_5009

DSC_5010

I heard it had not been easy for them to recuite new members. I wish them the best luck and really hope they won’t give up and keep playing. If you know anyone who lives nearby and may be interested in playing Karuta with them, please have them contact Spokane Karuta Society.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

